Back in March, when The Black Keys announced their North American tour with Modest Mouse, fans spiraled into hoping that this would be the year Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney return with a new album.

Shortly after detailing their tour, the Black Keys enlivened hopes by dropping Lo/Hi”, a classic blues-rock song that found Carney and Auerbach playing true to form. Fans were elated to hear the band’s distinctly gritty drums and a searing guitar solo, evidence that if the Black Keys were getting ready to release a new album, it would be one of a classic rock quality.

Now, the duo has finally revealed that their ninth studio album “Let’s Rock”—yes, with the quotation marks—will be out June 28th via Easy Eye Sound/Nonesuch Records. In addition to confirming their first album in five years, The Black Keys dropped the LP’s second single, “Eagle Birds“. Check it out, below.

It seems that the two musicians/producers realize their potential of recording and playing together, even though both Carney and Auerbach experienced success through their individual ventures. “When we’re together we are the Black Keys, that’s where that real magic is, and always has been since we were 16,” Auerbach said in statement. “The record is like a homage to electric guitar,” Carney added. “We took a simple approach and trimmed all the fat like we used to.”

Check out the full “Let’s Rock” tracklist below, along with a few more album details. Don’t forget: The Black Keys will be touring through November 24th with Modest Mouse, Shannon and the Clams, Jessy Wilson, and more. Learn how to get the Cheapest Black Keys Tickets here.



View this post on Instagram


NEW ALBUM + NEW SONG: The Black Keys are pleased to announce their ninth studio album “Let’s Rock” – available June 28th via Easy Eye Sound/Nonesuch Records. Pre-order the new album for instant downloads of the new song “Eagle Birds” & “Lo/Hi” now. Limited edition solid pink & white mix vinyl available exclusively in the Official Shop – only 7500 copies worldwide. Visit or click the link in bio/Story. “Let’s Rock” 1. Shine A Little Light 2. Eagle Birds 3. Lo/Hi 4. Walk Across The Water 5. Tell Me Lies 6. Every Little Thing 7. Get Yourself Together 8.Sit Around And Miss You 9. Go 10. Breaking Down 11. Under The Gun 12. Fire Walk With Me Written, tracked live, and produced by Dan and @officerpatrickcarney at @easyeyesound studio in Nashville, Tennessee #LetsRock

A post shared by The Black Keys (@theblackkeys) on

Share This